gratitude

ImageI have always had a love affair with stationary. I love paper stores the way a lot of other people love candy stores. I have an entire map on my phone that is solely paper stores in Toronto. If you ever want to know where to get the best wrapping paper or washi tape I am your girl. So it makes a lot of sense that I, perhaps ironically given I’m now officially a “blogger”, mourned the death of the letter.

Thankfully, stationary is making a HUGE come back. I can point you to a couple of my favourites in the city, but if you have Instagram and are as obsessed with checking out invitation suites you HAVE GOT to start following @dabneylee, @prettysmitten, @sugarpaperla, and @smittenonpaper just to name a few of our fave inspirations right now.

Image

a super cute example of gorgeous and classy stationary from Minted

One of the most important pieces of stationary you should carry with you are thank you cards. I keep a box of my current faves (found at the Paper Place on Queen St W by Trinity Bellwoods park for any Toronto dwellers!) on my desk at all times. Even if I’m not using one they remind me it’s always important to show people in your life that you appreciate them.

Image

paper doesn’t mean boring: check out this cheeky note from Ashley Brook Designs, perfect for sending someone a congrats message or thank you for a service performed!

But more importantly, thank you cards are pretty much at the top of the list of party etiquette. It is always appropriate to send a thank you, whether it be for a thoughtful gift or just for coming to your event; people are extremely busy and whenever somebody makes the effort to come and celebrate something with you it’s nice to let them know you appreciate that.

So that brings up an important question: how do you write a thank you card? 

I was doing a little research today (i.e. shopping online) and found this great list on Indigo.ca’s Kate Spade New York page (side note, if you haven’t checked that out yet it’s a MUST, there are so many great pieces coming out it’s an incredibly exciting change for Chapters!) that I think is really helpful:

5 Tips for Writing the Perfect Thank You Card

Image

Thank you’s should be short and sweet. But they should also be heartfelt. My favourite thing about the box of cards I found is that there are options. There are 6 thank you cards and 6 blank cards. Having some blank cards means that I can personalize my own note. If it’s a coworker’s birthday a little note with some flowers is a perfect, inexpensive and classy gift. If you have a meeting with someone send them a thank you for their time. If a friend did you a huge favour send them a little note with a Starbucks gift card with a message to grab a latte break on you.

Image

one of my friends gave me this little note when I moved to Toronto and I kept it this whole time because it was just the sweetest gesture!

Giving thanks is one of the best ways to make sure all your guests remember your parties fondly, and with such gorgeous ways to send notes I think every Party Girl should make the extra effort to be gracious everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

