dotticure

Happy monday party girl!

I can’t believe august has only two more weeks left! This summer is going by super fast. Many of you will be starting your back to school shopping soon, either for yourself or for your kids. But before you get too crazy with all the to do lists for september, how about taking an hour to relax on this busy monday and do something for yourself, say like do your nails?

I love getting pampered, and getting a manicures is one of the things I enjoy the most. Obviously it would be much better if someone was doing them for me, but I definitely can’t afford to be going in to the nail salon every week. So I have settled for doing them myself. Which works out great because I get to experiment with funky and different nail art. Just like the one for today’s mani monday!!

This weekend was so gloomy and cold, I decided to cheer up my week with a fun dotticure! Now for those that have never heard of a dotticure (you’re not alone, I was unaware of this term until a couple of days ago) it is a manicure that involves dots. Sounds simple doesn’t it. And it is! There are many different types of dotticures, depending on how intricate you want to get. I decided to try out a confetti style dotticure. It’s a nail art that I have wanted to do for a while now and it’s simple enough that anyone can do it.

Dotticure header 1

The very first step when starting your dotticure is doing your base coat. Now those of you that have seen my previous posts see something familiar. Yes I am using the Sally Hansen mint colour again, called Jaded. I fell in love with this nail polish colour when I saw it and I have been trying to use it as much as possible.

Dotticure 1

Once the base coat has dried you can chose the colours you want to use for the confetti dots. I chose to use a dark purple, a coral red, and a silver sparkly nail polish.

Dotticure 2

You will also need your dotting tool for this manicure (it is called a dotticure after all). If you don’t have one no worries, there are many alternatives that you can use which you can find around your house, like a pencil!

Dotticure 3

Once you have all of your nail polishes and tool ready you can begin the nail art. I started with purple colour first, placing the dots throughout the nail. Remember to leave room for the other two colours! Don’t stress too much about the exact placement, just put them wherever you like, you can always fill in any empty spots later.

Dotticure 4.1

Then I added the red. You can see that I did some bigger dots at the end of the nail and as I moved closer to the bed of the nail the dots got smaller, adding a little of variety.

Dotticure 5

Finally I added the silver sparkle. I wanted to leave this colour last as I like using it as a detail.

Dotticure 6

 

Do the same with the rest of the nails and you are done!

Dotticure 7

I loved doing this nail design, I think it looks cute and fun. Let us know what you think of our dotticure and if you have any suggestions for the next mani monday in the comments below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

