bbq cupcakes

bbq cupcake header

I don’t know about you but I’m insisting on holding on to the final dredges of summer in Canada. I left a restaurant tonight at 8pm AND IT WAS DARK. What is happening here? As part of my mission to enjoy these last few weeks of (official) summer, I whipped up another weekend BBQ snack perfect for entertaining. I’ve always had a soft spot for these BBQ cupcakes, and after making those hamburger cupcakes (and having three dozen of them eaten in a two day period I might add) I realized these little guys would be potluck gold! They were actually so easy to make, and they looked so fun people didn’t even want to eat them (but obviously they did, because they were chocolate, with chocolate BBQs, and gummy bears, like of course) and they were a cross-generation hit (this means my sisters and my grandmother approved of them equally).

Here’s how to make your own for your last backyard parties of the season!

bbq cupcakes step 1

First of all, decide what colour you want your icing to be. A lot of people make these with a cream coloured icing and I don’t get it. It’s a BBQ. BBQs are dark. Charcoal is like a weird grey/brown/black. YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG PEOPLE! Just kidding but I’m a stickler so I mixed this crazy difficult and basically impossibly complex don’t ever do it new colour with grey and brown and black icing dye.

I sprinkled some black chocolate chips on top for “pieces” of charcoal. Clearly I’ve never seen a BBQ in my life. But for some reason it made sense to everybody at the party so I don’t know, let’s move past it.

bbq cupcakes step 2

To make the “grill”, get some melting chocolates (you can use Candy Melts from Michaels or get baking chocolate at Bulk barn which tastes three thousand times better) and melt them. Pour them into a piping bag and quickly (so it doesn’t cool and harden in the bag) draw little grills on wax paper. Pop the paper in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes to make sure everything stays together.

bbq cupcake step 3

Pop the grills off the wax paper gently and stick them on your icing carefully. I found making two small “bumps” of icing on either side of the cupcake worked well for adhering the grill to the cupcake while leaving space underneath to see the little charcoal bits.

bbq cupcakes step 5

Push two or three small gummy bears onto a toothpick. Lay them on each grill.

And that’s it! It’s such a great way to make your cupcakes extra sweet, and it’s a really easy project.

bbq cupcakes final

Let us know how you’re soaking up the last bit of summer, and give these guys a try this weekend!

Leave a Reply

