swirl cake

swirl cake header how to make a pink swirl cake

So on Tuesday you got to see how we made this sweet little flamingo cake topper, and now as a bonus we’re going to show you the crazy easy cake we made to showcase it. The best part about this cake (we’ll call it the swirl cake) is that it’s so easy I don’t even know what tip I used. If that bothers you, I can ballpark and say it’s similar to a Wilton 1M, but it came free with the icing gun I got at Target (amazing) and it’s a bit more spread out than the 1M. Either way, it doesn’t really matter as long as you have that rough star shape to give it some texture.

I like to this of this cake as a play on the rosette cake, but maybe a bit more edgy. Okay maybe not at all edgy, but if you aren’t into rosettes then this is a fun compromise, and equally pretty.

swirl cake step 1 crumb coat

First, crumb coat your cake. The beauty of this one is that you’re going to make pretty large swirls, so it takes you about 5 minutes to make this cake and the coverage is amazing, so don’t stress about your crumb coat. This is me justifying how crazy messed up mine looks in these pictures. Yikes.

swirl cake step 2 pink swirl method

Once your crumb coat has settled a little, you can start your swirls. Start on the bottom layer and, unlike the rosette cake, start on the outside of what will be your swirl. Slowly rotate your icing tip forming a circle. The trick is to keep it loose enough that it forms a bit of a loop and doesn’t leave a big gaping hole in the centre. I twisted the end a bit and guided it to where I wanted it so you couldn’t see my crumb coat.

swirl cake step 3 completing the icing design

If you don’t like the little holes in the centre, you can use the swirl as a “frame” for something decorative to fill that void. I know that Bulk Barn has those gorgeous little roses in a million colours you could probably press into it, or make the swirls tighter (maybe to circles around) so there isn’t a gap. I kept mine loose because I wanted to attention to be on the flamingo topper, but ironically every time I see that picture I’m just like “man that cake is adorable”.

I didn’t ice the top of my cake (because of the whole topper thing) but you could continue the swirls on top in a circle spiralling outwards from the centre. I think the swirls set the stage for a cute topper, so if you’re giving the flamingo a try, this cake should be on your to do list!

And that’s all! Easy tutorial for an easy (and pretty!) project!

swirl cake final

Leave a Reply

